IAS Officer Exam Pattern: Understand UPSC Syllabus and Exam Pattern

Spread the love

How To Become IAS In India: The minimum age of the students for this UPSC exam is 21 years. General category applicants can appear 6 times in this exam up to a maximum of 32 years of age.

IAS Officer: It is the dream of every Indian youth to serve the country by becoming an IAS, IPS or IFS officer. For this, youth prepare for many years, only then do they get success. Today we will give you information about the complete process of this exam.

This exam is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). After which the candidates are selected as IAS, IPS, IAS or IFS officers, but the work of all these officers is different and their roles are also different

Education Qualification

To appear for the Civil Services Examination (CSE) conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), the applicant must be a graduate in any discipline. This exam is one of the toughest exams in India and students preparing for it must work hard.

Age Limit for CSE Exam

The minimum age of the students for this UPSC exam is 21 years. General category applicants can appear for 6 times in this exam up to a maximum of 32 years of age. At the same time, the age limit for OBC is 21 to 35 years and students of this category can give the exam 9 times. The age limit for SC/ST is 21 to 37 years, while there is no limit for attempting the exam for this category of students. Also the age limit for Physically Disabled candidates is 21 to 42 years. General and OBC candidates can appear 9 times in this category, while there is no limit for SC/ST.

Required subject selection for the exam

For this exam, you have to choose your subject from a total of 25 subjects. While selecting the subject, keep in mind that choose the subject in which it is easy for you to study. It includes Agriculture, Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science, Anthropology, Botany, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Commerce and Accountancy, Economics, Electrical Engineering, Geography, Geology, History, Law, Management, Mechanical Engineering, Medical Science, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science and International Relations, Psychology, Public Administration, Sociology, Statistics, Zoology and Languages ​​(Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu , Urdu and English) as an optional subject.

Exam Pattern to become IAS

To clear UPSC exam, students must clear 3 stages. First, the candidates must clear the preliminary exam. After this, the main exam must be given, then the qualified candidates are called for the interview.

Prelims Exam

In the prelim exam, candidates must attempt two papers of two hours each. The first paper is subject-related. On the other hand, the second paper is CSAT qualifying, and it is necessary to get 33 percent marks to pass in it. At the same time, based on the number of the first paper, the cutoff is prepared and according to the cut off the candidates are selected for the mains exam.

Main Exam for IAS

There are total 9 papers in the mains exam, out of which two are for qualifying (A and B) and seven others for merit. The language-based qualifying papers are of three hours each. One paper is of essay and in 3 hours you must write two essays on different topics of your choice. Apart from this, there are four papers of General Studies, for which three hours are available. Finally, there is the Optional Paper, which consists of two exams and the subject of which is chosen by the candidate. The marks from all the papers except qualifying are included in the merit list of the mains exam.


A candidate who clears the mains must fill up a Detail Application Form (DAF), based on which the personality test takes place. Questions are asked during the interview based on the information filled in the form. Merit list is prepared by adding the marks obtained in the interview and on the basis of this the All-India Ranking is decided.

Posts are given based on ranking

The ranking is decided based on different categories (Gen, SC, ST, OBC, EWS). According to which they are given IAS, IPS or IFS rank. Top rankers get IAS, but sometimes top rankers refer to IPS or IRS, while lower rankers can also get IAS posts. The ranks after this get IPS and IFS posts. After that selected candidate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *